Click here for Paul Weller's news feed
19 Jan

New Weller Album - 'Wake Up The Nation'

You may have seen the first snippets of news of Paul's new album being announced in the press recently and today we can confirm those details.

Entitled 'Wake Up The Nation', the album is set to be released on April 19th and will be preceded by the double A-side single 'Wake Up The Nation'/'No Tears To Cry' on April 12th.

'Wake Up The Nation' was produced and co-written by Simon Dine at Paul's Black Barn studios in Surrey.

We asked Paul to talk us through a special track-by-track guide for his fans, to explain the origins of each song and to introduce the special guests that appear on the record, including Bev Bevan from ELO and The Move and Kevin Shields from My Bloody Valentine.

Paul also re-unites with Bruce Foxton for the first time since The Jam split in 1982.

Here's a glimpse into the making of 'Wake Up The Nation':

1. Moonshine

“Bev Bevan (The Move/ELO) plays drums on this one. Simon and I are big psychedelic music fans, so it was a real buzz. I was back to being a ten year old Move fan again.”

2. Wake Up The Nation

“It’s political with a small ‘p’. There’s a line in there about the death of the post box. It’s about how technology brings advantages but it also depersonalises things.”

3. No Tears To Cry

‘‘It’s s a definite nod to the Walker Brothers and those epic ballads. I thought it would fitting to get the man who played on a lot of those records to play on it. He’s seventy odd, but Clem (Cattini) came down and did it in literally two takes. He’s that good.”

4. Fast Car Slow Traffic

“It’s a real London tune. It’s a pretty full on. We played this on the last tour and people were really mad for it.  It was really interesting to hear Bruce (Foxton) playing on it. You can instantly tell it’s him.” 

5. Grasp and Still Connect

“It’s about how technology is meant to get us greater levels of communication, but I’m not convinced. It’s silly things like not talking to a conductor when you get on the bus - you buy a ticket from a machine. We’re forgetting how to talk to each other.”

6. She Speaks

“I’ve never really done anything like it before. It’s based on a poem I wrote about a year ago. Lyrically, it’s about the sea as a metaphor for life. Sometimes, however, you just have to plunge in and get on with it.”

7. Find The Torch Burn The Plans

“Thematically, it ties in with the title track. We’ve got to reclaim our heritage and our culture. Claim it back from the fucking politicians and the establishment. Charles (engineer) played drums. My daughter and her mate sang on it too.”

8. Aim High

“Stevie Pilgrim is on drums on this one. It was initially one phrase repeated over and over. I hit that falsetto voice, which was nice because I haven’t used it for a long time. Once I had the melody I wrote the words really quickly.”

9. Trees

“The words were inspired by going to see my dad just before he died. Simon liked them and he had the idea for five different musical parts to interpret them. My cousin Mark played guitar on it.”

10. Andromeda

“It’s about someone leaving a dying planet. I love the image of the last verse: “My mood gets lifted with the gravity’s pull/Looks like I’m smiling but I’m dying too.” It’s just about us mirroring our surroundings.”

11. Whatever Next

“It’s an instrumental. The album is made up of fairly short tracks but they’ve got a lot of information packed into them, so it’s nice to catch your breath for a minute, then get on with it.”

12. 7 + 3 Is The Strikers Name

“Kevin Shields plays on this one. He came down to the studio with a big bag of effects pedals and we took it from there. There’s a dig at the royal family in the lyrics – that whole invisible establishment is still in power, nothing’s changed.”

13. Pieces of A Dream

“We’d played it on the last tour and I was really surprised at how well it went down. People seem to really fucking love it. Stevie Pilgrim is on drums.”

14. 2 Fat Ladies

“I played bass and Little Barrie played guitar. It’s got a nice raw sound to it. What are the lyrics about? Hard to say. I was making them up as I went along! I think it’s a case of people taking what they want from it. What seems meaningless to one person can mean everything to someone else.”

Stay tuned for details of where you can pre-order the album and single...


Please login to post comments on this item

Username: Password:
Click here to signup!
31/05/11 bartdircx wrote:
02/11/10 weemojo wrote: seen him do most of the album in amsterdam in may going back in the jam.......happy days
08/05/10 yorkie352 wrote: brilliant album
25/04/10 carlosroye wrote: I got it de Fxxxing album From VENEZUELA JAJAJAJ
I love it ; I love NO TEARS TO CRY amazing lyrics
19/04/10 donard wrote: Good to hear the great Bev Bevan again.
19/04/10 king_piggy wrote: yes u can its 18 quid on amazon
12/02/10 seanmills wrote: does anybody know if this album will be out on vinal?????
01/02/10 shopkin wrote: WOOT!cant wait!
29/01/10 poorpaolo wrote: North American release date is May 4th with pre-orders starting March 16th. US tour dates announced "soon".
28/01/10 magic.bus wrote: Really looking forward to WUTN. Heard a couple of the new ones at Margate in December - can't wait!

27/01/10 tobysomeone wrote: Nice one jemtor. Just downloaded WUPTN from that website, sounds great. The only problem with a new album coming out, is waiting for it!
25/01/10 jemtor wrote: Hello, If you log on to you can hear & download the studio version of "Wake Up The Nation". Don't know whether they've got permission but it's BLINDING!!!

25/01/10 modbod wrote: looking forward to WUTN its gonna be another top album like all the rest.
oh by the wayWELL SAID MODPHIL64
23/01/10 welshrarebit wrote: Like most I am waiting with anticipation to hear the new LP, as with all Paul's albums. - can't wait to get my mitts on it, get it home and play it several times over. Nice to read his comments on the tracks and intrigued to learn of the reunion with Bruce. Watch this space...............
22/01/10 bluemodjazz wrote: Loved 7&3 looking forward to hearing the album and how the amorphous androgynous mixes sound on mentioned project.
22/01/10 mrtom wrote: pieces of a dream is a real gem loved it when he played it at the uea
22/01/10 daviebhoy wrote: Same release date in North America?
21/01/10 tonoscole wrote: sounded good at the pompey gig roll on april
21/01/10 modpaul wrote: heard some of the new stuff at margate in december so cant wait till april
21/01/10 haru wrote: i can't waaaaaaait
We've really missed you!!