Click here for Paul Weller's news feed
22 Sep

The Jam 'Sound Affects' - 30th Anniversary Edition Out November 8th

The Jam 'Sound Affects' - 30th Anniversary Edition Out November 8th The Jam's seminal 1980 album 'Sound Affects' is being re-released in a digitally-remastered, Deluxe Edition this autumn to celebrate its 30th anniversary.

Hailed by Paul himself as the band's finest work, 'Sound Affects' spawned two of The Jam's biggest hits in 'That's Entertainment' and 'Start!' and is widely regarded as one of the band's most experimental works.

Paul, who cites 'Sound Affects' as an influence for this year's acclaimed 'Wake Up The Nation', said last month: "I still feel it was our best record. There are loads of other things I like, but as an overall body work, I thought it was great. To me, it still sounds fresh.”

Released on November 1st, the remastered 2CD Deluxe Edition features the album digitally remastered together with 22 bonus tracks, demos, covers, b-sides and alternative versions - 8 of which are previously unreleased.  

It comes complete with a 24 page booklet with extensive sleevenotes by Guardian writer John Harris, an exclusive Paul Weller interview, rare photos and period memorabilia.

You can pre-order 'Sound Affects - Deluxe Edition' from Amazon, HMV and right now.

The full track-listing is as follows:

Disc1 - Original album (remastered):

1. Pretty Green
2. Monday
3. But I’m Different Now
4. Set The House Ablaze
5. Start!    
6. That’s Entertainment
7. Dream Time
8. Man In The Corner Shop
9. Music For The Last Couple
10. Boy About Town
11. Scrape Away

Disc 2 - Bonus tracks:

1. Start! (single version)  
2. Liza Radley (b-side of Start!)  
3. Dreams Of Children (b-side of Going Underground)
4. That’s Entertainment (alternate version from 'Direction, Reaction, Creation')
5. Pretty Green ('demo with overdubs' - previously unreleased)
6. Pop Art Poem (Jam fan club flexi-disc, from 'Extras')
7. Rain (demo from 'Direction, Reaction, Creation')
8. Boy About Town (demo - previously unreleased)
9. Dream Time (demo from 'Direction, Reaction, Creation')  
10. Dead End Street (demo from 'Direction, Reaction, Creation')
11. But I’m Different Now (demo from 'Extras')
12. Scrape Away (instrumental version - previously unreleased)  
13. Start! (demo - previously unreleased)  
14. Liza Radley (demo from 'Extras')
15. And Your Bird Can Sing (demo from 'Extras')
16. Monday (alternate version - previously unreleased)   
17. Get Yourself Together (from 'Extras')
18. Set The House Ablaze (alternate 'dub ending' version - previously unreleased)  
19. Boy About Town (alternate version - Jam fan club flexi from 'Extras')
20. No One In The World (demo from 'Extras')
21. 'Instrumental' (demo  - previously unreleased)  
22. Waterloo Sunset (demo - previously unreleased)


Please login to post comments on this item

Username: Password:
Click here to signup!
07/10/10 ron_nasty wrote: will this be released in the US as well?

great show at the fillmore, except where you vamped in "love Life" at the end of "All You Need Is Love". Expect to hear from our lawyer. singular.
07/10/10 etonrifle79 wrote: Cannot wait !!!!
26/09/10 harland1 wrote: Got most of these tunes already but can't resist. One of my fav albums of all time. Curiously looking forward to hearing Scrape Away as a instrumental version