Click here for Paul Weller's news feed
22 Nov

New Album 'Sonik Kicks'

Never one to rest on his laurels, Paul Weller is a musician who is always evolving and on March 19th 2012 the next phase of his evolution begins with the release of 'Sonik Kicks'.

On his eleventh solo album Weller continues to the push the boundaries, looking forward rather than back unlike so many of his contemporaries.

Sample a taster of what's to come right now on in the form of album track 'Around The Lake'.
The track is accompanied by a sequence from a short film that Paul is a fan of called '24hrs, Pavey Park' which was directed by Mike Moloney & John Hooper.

'Around The Lake' is available to download from iTunes, click here to get your copy now.

'Sonik Kicks' features appearances from the likes of Noel Gallagher and Graham Coxon, the full tracklisting is:

1. Green
2. The Attic
3. Kling I Klang
4. Sleep Of The Serene
5. By The Waters
6. That Dangerous Age
7. Study In Blue
8. Dragonfly
9. When Your Garden's Overgrown
10. Around The Lake
11. Twilight
12. Drifters
13. Paperchase
14. Be Happy Children

It is available for pre-order now from the following stores:

Play [Standard]

Townsend Records [Hardback Book Edition +DVD W/Exclusive Artwork Print]

The album will also be available on vinyl, more details of that format will be announced shortly.

It will be released in the US on March 27th via Yep Roc Records, visit Weller's page on their website for more details

'Sonik Kicks' reveals Paul Weller once again shaking up his palate and stirring his influences anew, mixing pop art punch with soulful communication, jazzy explorations into psychedelia and dub with razor-sharp melodies, abstract soundscapes with clear-eyed forest-folk.

Believers can discover this at The Roundhouse when 'Sonik Kicks' is performed in full this spring with two shows on 18th & 19th March 2012.

Support on the nights will come from Baxter Drury.

Tickets for the gigs go on exclusive pre-sale via at 9am on Wednesday November 23rd.

They will then go on general sale at 9am on Friday November 25th.

Weller doesn't want to wait 20 years to perform a 'classic' album, he'd rather do it here and now - no need for nostalgia to play its part.


Please login to post comments on this item

Username: Password:
Click here to signup!
21/02/12 leedsmod77 wrote: From what iev herd of sonik kicks it will be yet a brilliant album from paul weller as allway hope he tours later in the year and I get a ticket
03/12/11 hbmod wrote: Fookin CLASS.......absolutely cant wait for this album.....BRING IT
26/11/11 nappa wrote: cant wait 4 sonik kicks got tickets 4 the monday get in
23/11/11 frankie66 wrote: managed to get tickets..finally. Got reference no' but no confirmation email as yet. Fingers crossed I haven't been striped up !
23/11/11 roto60 wrote: sorted , type in paul weller in the search tab
23/11/11 paisleyleah wrote: Link not working for me. Any suggestions?
23/11/11 roto60 wrote: why do they do that ? F**cking annoying.
23/11/11 fionamayes01 wrote: pre sale link doesnt work :(
22/11/11 mattm wrote: Stunng! Brilliant track Around The Lake.....'who knows, not us'.....
22/11/11 wokingwonder wrote: Paul and Noel are the best! Can't wait to hear it. Cheers!
22/11/11 dwallsgrove wrote: Cant wait to buy it !!!!
22/11/11 roto60 wrote: whats the crack with the pre sale ? anybody know?
22/11/11 frankie66 wrote: How do we get in for tickets on Wednesday? Link from here?
Can't wait to hear the Album.
22/11/11 gluca1971 wrote: non vedo l'ora!!!!